Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How do you "hack" SRB2?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    February 5th, 2013
    Posts
    28
    Level
    5

    How do you "hack" SRB2?

    I can't figure out how to hack SRB2 like have it load different player files at start-up. Can someone help me please?
    Last edited by Sky The Destroyer; April 22nd, 2014 at 00:34.
    Coolest kid ever! And probably the only one that knows how to hack Super Mario World.

    Server: Golden's Randomized Server - Name because I do something different in SRB2 almost everytime I get on.

    Preferred SRB2 Mod: SRB2 Cineblast - for the bots.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 14th, 2010
    Location
    Castle Don't touch me you filthy casual
    Posts
    3,146
    Level
    31
    Loading different player files at start up isn't Hacking
    It's Scripting.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2012
    Location
    no
    Posts
    558
    Level
    21
    Depends on what you're looking for. I have a file that's compatible with Cheat Engine.



    k

  4. #4
    Join Date
    July 7th, 2010
    Location
    Somewhere between time and space. o.o
    Posts
    294
    Level
    28
    Is there even a way to hack Srb2? Srb2 itself is an open source fangame, meaning that it's open for anyone to edit it. What would it even mean to hack the game anyways? When someone asks me about hacking Srb2, I imagine someone hacking the Master Server in some way and changing things from there. I myself have imagined someone gaining control over a server and being able to ban/kick the host. I would consider THAT as hacking Srb2(or perhaps exploiting the game in some way, who knows). In the end I'm not quite sure. I'd love to read anyone else's opinions on this matter though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    February 5th, 2013
    Posts
    28
    Level
    5
    Well how would you script it to load different player wads at start-up?
    Coolest kid ever! And probably the only one that knows how to hack Super Mario World.

    Server: Golden's Randomized Server - Name because I do something different in SRB2 almost everytime I get on.

    Preferred SRB2 Mod: SRB2 Cineblast - for the bots.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    575
    Level
    15
    You can do this two ways.

    1. Autoexec
    2. Edit the source code so it always load the files.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 30th, 2012
    Posts
    1,453
    Level
    34
    Hmm...both of those are hard...
    I've never really tried hacking it.
    (By the way, you seem familiar, do you get on the Runouw boards? It's me, sonicfan253.)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    April 19th, 2012
    Location
    Skype
    Posts
    1,458
    Level
    21
    First you get a knife, preferably a machete.
    Then you run SRB2 make sure the console is on.
    THEN YOU REPEATEDLY STAB THE SCREEN AS YOU CRY TO YOURSELF, " WHY DOES MY LIFE SUCK, YYYYYYY111111111111."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2012
    Location
    no
    Posts
    558
    Level
    21
    I'm just going to further explain the autoexec method Steel mentioned.

    First off, autoexec is basically a text file under the file extension of .cfg
    The game will always attempt to load autoexec.cfg upon start up hence the name autoexec.cfg (auto execution).

    So here's how it works, take mine for example:

    Code:
    color "yellow"
    playersforexit "all"
    bind = "cheats on"
    bind / "skin "Knuckles""
    bind . "skin "Tails""
    bind , "skin "Sonic""
    bind m "setlives 69"
    bind n "setrings 1337"
    You could also do the same with addfile "filename.wad".
    If you're going to add a music WAD you can just modify music.dta, it won't crash or anything as long as the lump is SFX or music.



    k

  10. #10
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2020
    Location
    Florida, US
    Posts
    2,531
    Level
    41
    Ways to start up srb2 with preloaded wads and socs
    1. autoexec.txt file (srb2 wiki can explain it)
    2. a batch file
    3. going out of your way to edit the source code (not recommended)

    Ways to "hack" srb2:
    1. Cheat Engine + Practice (or download from a friend) but don't do it on netgames, it's uncool.

    Thread closed, since the question was answered.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •