Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How do you "hack" SRB2?

  1. #1
    Date Joined
    February 5th, 2013
    Post Count
    28
    Level
    4
    Total Points
    2,144.00

    How do you "hack" SRB2?

    I can't figure out how to hack SRB2 like have it load different player files at start-up. Can someone help me please?
    Coolest kid ever! And probably the only one that knows how to hack Super Mario World.

    Server: Golden's Randomized Server - Name because I do something different in SRB2 almost everytime I get on.

    Preferred SRB2 Mod: SRB2 Cineblast - for the bots.

  2. #2
    Date Joined
    September 14th, 2010
    Location
    Castle Fuck yoooouuuu
    Post Count
    2,958
    Level
    52
    Total Points
    134,634.00
    Loading different player files at start up isn't Hacking
    It's Scripting.


  3. #3
    Date Joined
    June 24th, 2012
    Location
    no
    Post Count
    553
    Level
    21
    Total Points
    22,680.00
    Depends on what you're looking for. I have a file that's compatible with Cheat Engine.



    k

  4. #4
    Date Joined
    July 7th, 2010
    Location
    Somewhere between time and space. o.o
    Post Count
    306
    Level
    31
    Total Points
    42,660.00
    Is there even a way to hack Srb2? Srb2 itself is an open source fangame, meaning that it's open for anyone to edit it. What would it even mean to hack the game anyways? When someone asks me about hacking Srb2, I imagine someone hacking the Master Server in some way and changing things from there. I myself have imagined someone gaining control over a server and being able to ban/kick the host. I would consider THAT as hacking Srb2(or perhaps exploiting the game in some way, who knows). In the end I'm not quite sure. I'd love to read anyone else's opinions on this matter though.

  5. #5
    Date Joined
    February 5th, 2013
    Post Count
    28
    Level
    4
    Total Points
    2,144.00
    Well how would you script it to load different player wads at start-up?
    Coolest kid ever! And probably the only one that knows how to hack Super Mario World.

    Server: Golden's Randomized Server - Name because I do something different in SRB2 almost everytime I get on.

    Preferred SRB2 Mod: SRB2 Cineblast - for the bots.

  6. #6
    Date Joined
    January 17th, 2011
    Location
    United States
    Post Count
    592
    Level
    28
    Total Points
    34,971.00
    You can do this two ways.

    1. Autoexec
    2. Edit the source code so it always load the files.

  7. #7
    Date Joined
    December 30th, 2012
    Post Count
    1,384
    Level
    27
    Total Points
    33,721.00
    Hmm...both of those are hard...
    I've never really tried hacking it.
    (By the way, you seem familiar, do you get on the Runouw boards? It's me, sonicfan253.)

  8. #8
    Date Joined
    April 19th, 2012
    Location
    The Sky Pillar
    Post Count
    1,452
    Level
    33
    Total Points
    48,487.00
    First you get a knife, preferably a machete.
    Then you run SRB2 make sure the console is on.
    THEN YOU REPEATEDLY STAB THE SCREEN AS YOU CRY TO YOURSELF, " WHY DOES MY LIFE SUCK, YYYYYYY111111111111."

  9. #9
    Date Joined
    June 24th, 2012
    Location
    no
    Post Count
    553
    Level
    21
    Total Points
    22,680.00
    I'm just going to further explain the autoexec method Steel mentioned.

    First off, autoexec is basically a text file under the file extension of .cfg
    The game will always attempt to load autoexec.cfg upon start up hence the name autoexec.cfg (auto execution).

    So here's how it works, take mine for example:

    Code:
    color "yellow"
    playersforexit "all"
    bind = "cheats on"
    bind / "skin "Knuckles""
    bind . "skin "Tails""
    bind , "skin "Sonic""
    bind m "setlives 69"
    bind n "setrings 1337"
    You could also do the same with addfile "filename.wad".
    If you're going to add a music WAD you can just modify music.dta, it won't crash or anything as long as the lump is SFX or music.



    k

  10. #10
    Date Joined
    March 16th, 2012
    Location
    ???
    Post Count
    2,057
    Level
    37
    Total Points
    63,772.00
    Ways to start up srb2 with preloaded wads and socs
    1. autoexec.txt file (srb2 wiki can explain it)
    2. a batch file
    3. going out of your way to edit the source code (not recommended)

    Ways to "hack" srb2:
    1. Cheat Engine + Practice (or download from a friend) but don't do it on netgames, it's uncool.

    Thread closed, since the question was answered.
    Skybase Server: Offline until further notice
    Internet in a Nutshell



    Not Currently Taking Map Requests
    Working on:
    -Living the Life of an SRB2 Mapper
    -RainbowdashRE
    -And more!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •